top of page

Panic! by Lauren Oliver

First off, I received this book from my cousin who had it as an Advanced Reader's Copy from before the book was originally released. It wasn't up her alley, but when I read the summary I knew I would like it. Boy was I right! I absolutely loved this book! While I do have a very short attention span, this book kept my attention and I finished it less than a week.


In a short, spoiler-free summary, the book covers an interesting group of main characters and focuses on a game called Panic. Every year, the graduating seniors of Carp's high school participate in the risky game to win a large sum of money. The challenges all lend themselves to the name of the game, which will have you wide eyed and frantically reading to find out who makes it to the next round. Following a relatable and complex group, you will make a connection with the characters and find yourself rooting for all of them.


I don't want to say much more about the plot because I don't want to give anything away! But overall, the book was wonderful: a quick read, easy flowing, and made me want more! Panic gives the reader an interesting, clever plot line and some great lessons as well. I actually want to quote the author's website because it sums up the themes precisely: "...an extraordinary novel of fear, friendship, courage, and hope."


I'm going to give this book 4.5 stars. I only docked it a half of a point because I wish it had slightly more depth in the characters. I found myself wanting to know more about certain events and emotions from the mind of a particular character. But as a whole, it deserves those 4.5 stars 100%!

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes Young Adult novels, and a little bit of suspense!


Check out the author's summary --> HERE!

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE!

Comments


bottom of page