top of page

Witchful Thinking by Celestine Martin

This book was everything I wanted to get into the spooky season spirit, but in a cozy way!

Set in a town full of magical beings, our main character Lucy is just your average witch, but she longs for so much more. She and her cousins together decide to perform a wish spell, which turns Lucy's life upside down, in the best way!


The world building in this one was so cute and I loved how Martin made a town full of witches and merpeople and vampires seem so normal. I also adored the main character. I found I really related to her. She really enjoyed the smaller things in life, but still wanted to stand out.


I also thought the moral was very sweet and uniquely told. I don't want to spoil anything, because this one is a must read.


While I did love the book, there were certain aspects that were off to me. The side storyline following her cousin Ursula and her wedding was never really resolved as well as what was happening with her other cousins. I almost wish it wasn't as much a part of the story. I was in love with Lucy and Alex enough that I didn't really need the side characters as much. The other thing was some of the language used during the spicy scenes. It just didn't really fit the cozy nature of the book. I think a little bit of spice was warranted but should have been more delicately written, for lack of a better word.


Overall, this was absolutely a fun read and I would love to read more about the main characters or even a spin off in the same world. I gave Witchful Thinking 3.5 stars!


I did receive this as an ARC, but the book is now available for purchase!

Read the author's summary --> HERE


Buy it on Amazon --> HERE


Comments


bottom of page