top of page

A Witch's Guide to Fake Dating a Demon by Sarah Hawley

This book was so much FUN! I guess you could probably tell that from the title, but it it was even better than I anticipated!

A Witch's Guide to Fake Dating a Demon is chock-full of fun romance tropes like fake dating, of course, grumpy/sunshine, forced proximity, and a slowww burn. The story follows Mariel -- a garden witch who is failing miserably to live up to her mother's "prophecy" that was supposedly bestowed upon her at birth.


While practicing her magic, she tries summoning some flour to bake with and instead finds Ozroth the Ruthless standing in her kitchen. She'd accidentally summoned a demon and he wasn't leaving without her soul.


Of course, chaos ensues and we meet a quirky cast of characters like Mariel's harsh and overbearing mother and her influencer pixie friend.


Without giving away too much, I really enjoyed this book in its entirety. I loved the characters, there were unexpected twists and turns, and it certainly made me laugh. One thing that particularly stood out to me was the language and Hawley's writing style. She kept her writing light and conversational, which I enjoy that kind of ease, but she also used a good deal of higher end vocabulary. It was very smartly written, if that makes sense. I also loved how she incorporated pop culture. I know that can sometimes age a book, but reading it now, I appreciated the movie references and jokes!

Overall, this was so much fun and I breezed right through it -- another easily rated five star read! Much thanks to Hawley and Berkley Publishing Group for allowing me to read this early via ARC and for including me in your blog blitz!


Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

댓글


bottom of page