top of page

Brujas by Lorraine Monteagut, PhD

For my first book of 2022, I chose to read this work of art -- Brujas: The Magic and Power of Witches of Color. I actually saw an ad for this book on Facebook and reached out to the publisher for a media copy! They asked for me to write a review, thus Beach Reads with Bri was born! While this is far from my first review, it inspired me to start this blog!



Onto my thoughts! I really enjoyed this book. It's very different than what I typically read and is more of a non-fiction/reference title. The author goes through each section, detailing stories of witchcraft, culture and the many difficulties people of color have faced, witchcraft related and not.


While the layout was a little tricky to get used to at first, I actually found it to be quite unique and intriguing. Each section had a title and matching zodiac sign, to which each story related. She told her own stories as well as those of other people of color who either practice some form of witchcraft or had it passed down through generations of their families. At the end of each section, the author offers a ritual or spell that goes along with the chapter as well as many wonderful, online resources!


I learned a lot from this book and as a Latinx fascinated by witchcraft, it was right up my alley. The people she interviewed were as captivating as their stories and each one offered insight into different important pieces of life.


This is a book I will pick up over and over for the reference part and also likely to read a short story here and there that relates to me in the moment.


Overall, I found the book to be extremely relevant to our time and society, beautifully written and a truly inspiring read. Many thanks again to the publishing house for sending me this beautiful book (not to mention the stunning cover art) that now sits displayed prominently on my bookshelf. I gave it five stars.

Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Comments


bottom of page