top of page

Lost by M.E. Greenfield

As a self-proclaimed mermaid, I could not pass up the opportunity to join the ARC team for Lost and let me say, I am so glad I did! On top of the book being amazing and having me itching for book two, I got to be a part of a really fun community of book lovers, including the author herself! This was my first experience of the sort and it has seriously been so much fun!


But enough about that, let's get to the review!


As I've already hinted at, I really loved this book. I will say I was a bit skeptical at the very beginning, where we meet one of our main characters, Wyatt. It's giving very little mermaid -- teenage mer-prince wants to go to the surface against his father's wishes. HOWEVER, it was so much more than that!


To give a bit of an idea of the story without spoiling anything, I'd consider this a multiple-POV with two main characters, Wyatt and Liz who is just a girl from Ohio who's grandfather was keeping some secrets from her her entire life. After her grandfather passes, she takes their previously planned trip to Anna Maria Island on her own, which is where our MC's meet.


The setting itself pulls you in, set on this beautiful island on the western side of Florida (just a couple hours north of where I used to live in Fort Myers!) Throughout the book, we get to join our characters as they explore the island and Greenfield even told us that everywhere that was mentioned is a real place on the island, aside from the main restaurant -- The Cove. It really made me want to visit there!


I really enjoyed the new experience of getting the point of view from multiple characters. It really brought them all to life and it was interesting to see what each of them were thinking regarding the same situations. Getting to know the characters really made the story come alive.


The plot kept me on the edge of my seat and I absolutely devoured it. Greenfield did such an outstanding job of keeping the story going and throwing in several twists that I definitely didn't see coming!


As a curator of mermaid-themed books, I find the stories tend to be annoyingly similar, but Lost absolutely stood out and incorporated more realistic "life issues" than most mermaid books I've read.


I honestly cannot say enough good things about this book and the author. I will definitely be purchasing a hardback copy to display on my shelf (bonus, the cover is GORGEOUS) that will make me smile whenever I see it!


Of course, this one got five stars from me and I am so excited for book two (no matter how long we have to wait!!)

Lost by M.E. Greenfield is available TODAY! Happy pub day! Be sure to check out her Etsy for some cool merch!


Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it at Barnes & Noble --> HERE

1 Comment


huntingforagoodread
Mar 30, 2023

Great review!! ❤️

Like
bottom of page