top of page

One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London

First off, I have to say I absolutely adored this book. I stumbled upon a Book of the Month copy at my local Goodwill and couldn't pick it up fast enough! I later realized I had added this to my "Want to Read" list on goodreads several years ago when the book first came out! Several people I know had read it and loved it, so I figured I would too!



The book follows plus-sized, fashion blogger Bea, who I had no trouble at all relating to. She's the boss babe type who seems like she has her ish together, but has had about zero luck in her love life. She eventually finds herself for the Bachelorette-style show, Main Squeeze, as the first plus-sized gal to do so.


I really enjoyed following along with Bea's journey to find love for not only a man (maybe?) but also herself. It spoke a lot to my heart, being a larger woman my entire life. You are made to feel less-than, as she definitely was in the book. But what I really liked about Bea was that her initial reaction was to stand up for herself and think the best of herself, but when others tried to knock her down, she would eventually crumble -- she was very human.


Not only did I love Bea, but I just adored the premise of the book itself. It was really fun and exciting to read along with her escapades as she truly tried to understand all of these men and who she could, and couldn't, trust. There's quite a few twists and turns, some for dramatic effect (it is a TV show after all) and others you just weren't expecting.


I also really enjoyed the unique layout of the book itself, with inserts from live tweets, group chats and TMZ articles, which really added to the overall effect of following along with a TV series.


I very easily gave this one five stars. I know I tend to be frivolous when giving out fives, and I've been trying to be a bit more critical, but I just loved this one so much I couldn't not give it full marks!

Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Comments


bottom of page