top of page

Tricked in October by Starla DeKruyf

This was the last book I read for fall and I unfortunately wasn't the biggest fan of this one. I was so grateful to receive an ARC copy of Tricked in October from NetGalley and was really excited to read it. From the description it seemed like a cozy romance novel set in October with a friends to lovers trope. That it was, however it felt somewhat incomplete to me.


The title and description is super misleading to me. The first part of the summary describes the story as "mistaken identity leads to a Halloween hook-up that might not be so mistaken after all." From my reading, this part was pretty much irrelevant to the storyline and the rest of the description just seems off to me. It's hard for me to describe, but as to not give the whole story away, the two main characters finally get together but the small-town rumor mill mistakes him for his twin brother. Which was an issue for literally like two chapters.


But in my own summary, I'd say it's mainly two best friends randomly develop feelings (or notice they have feelings) for each other, take over half the book to actually get together and fight about stupid, petty stuff. I hate to be negative about any book, but this storyline was just not for me.


I did enjoy DeKruyf's writing style and thought the characters were cute, but there was so much more that could have been done with this plot to make it a little more interesting and a little less predictable. I was also disappointed that the cozy fall feeling was lacking.


I gave this one two stars because there were parts I enjoyed and I liked most of the characters. I think it just felt a little rushed. The ingredients were there but a couple steps were skipped so it just wasn't quite right.

Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Kommentare


bottom of page