top of page

What the Hex by Jessica Clare

If you're into witchy romance with an extra bit of spice, this book is right up your alley! I have not yet the first, and very popular, book in this collection, Go Hex Yourself, but after reading this one I'm definitely going to pick it up!

I really enjoyed this book, particularly the very unique and quirky main characters! However, I'll admit it took a bit for them to grow on me.


The story follows Penny, a young woman longing to start a life of her own as a familiar to a witch or warlock. She's super involved in her familiars group, has a job she enjoys, and a nice group of friends, but can't help feeling stuck.


Enter Willem Sauer. His last name describes him perfectly according to others who know him -- a pompous, particular, and relatively unlikeable warlock. On top of that, he's been banned from having a familiar due to some malarkey with a former master.


It turns out Penny and Willem have a mutual friend who brings them together under some shady circumstances and the two begin working together "illegally."


Without giving too much away, the story does take some twists and turns and presents you with somewhat of a mystery to solve in addition to a very slow-burning, fake dating-style romance.


Overall, I really liked this book, however I did feel like some parts of the story line were a little forced or out of place. I also felt some of the supporting characters weren't quite as developed as they could have been.


As for Penny and Willem, I low-key hated both of them in the beginning. I thought Penny was whiny and annoying and that Willem was overly snooty. But after I got further into the story and learned more about their stories, I wound up falling in love with them! Let's just say I'd definitely be interested in a continuation of their story -- especially if it involves Pip! 🐿️


I gave this one four stars and would 100% recommend it! I'm looking forward to reading more from Clare!

A big thank you to the author and publisher for allowing me to read this book early and to participate in the blog tour!


Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Comments


bottom of page