top of page

When In Rome by Sarah Adams

This was such a cute little rom com that I enjoyed from start to finish! It’s a slow burn, grumpy-sunshine romance — two of my least favorite tropes — but I’ll tell you, this one really worked for me!

The characters were unique and had a lot of fun quirks & baggage to unpack in addition to the main romantic plot. They were each dealing with their own trauma and drama! While I am not much like either character (ie. Not a pop superstar or a small town pie shop owner), I found them both easy to love! I loved the tension between them and appreciated that there was more to the story after the main romantic climax (pun ABSOLUTELY intended) and it didn’t just fall off and wrap up “and they lived happily ever after” like a lot of slow burn romances do. 


There was also a great cast of supporting characters that I would absolutely read a book about -- for example a spin off about Noah's sisters, or a "prequel" about his grandmother & her best friend Mable, who seemed like the Thelma and Louise type!


(NOTE: As I was writing this, I looked it up and she DID write some of these! Practice Makes Perfect came out last summer and follows Noah's youngest sister Annie & Beg Borrow or Steal follows his oldest sister, Emily, and releases in January! Definitely adding them to my TBR!)

While this wasn't necessarily the best book I've ever read ever in my life, I did give it five stars. Why? Because it hit all the marks for what I expected -- it was a fun, easy read that made my smile and giggle! It had everything I want in a silly little romantic comedy, although if I did have to critique, I'd say I would have liked a little more spice instead of the "fade to black" when they FINALLY got together! But if you're looking for a very wholesome romance with a unique perspective, this one is for you!


The biggest thank you to the author, Sarah Adams, and her publisher, Dell, for allowing me to read this book as an ARC! It may have taken me a while, but I'm so grateful and hope to read future love stories from Adams!


Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Comments


bottom of page