top of page

Influencer Island by Kyle Rutkin

This book was a little out of my normal comfort zone, but I actually wound up really enjoying it! I was in desperate need of a break after reading a bajillion romance novels. Don't get me wrong, a good cheesy romance is up there on my list of favorites, but I was definitely ready for a palette cleanser & Influencer Island was a great choice.

I actually saw an ad for this book on Facebook and decided to see if there was an ARC available! I am so grateful to the publisher and author that I was chosen to read and review it ahead of publishing.


As I mentioned, this book was out of my comfort zone as it is a thriller. I've read one or two books in the genre, but it's not something I usually gravitate toward. However, Influencer Island caught my attention.


To give you a basic summary, a renowned and controversial artist creates a reality show involving beloved influencers and people who want to be believed influencers. However, things quickly turn dark as contestants are eliminated -- not just from the competition, but from existence.


There is a lot more to the plot than just the competition, as we switch perspectives from our podcast narrator to some of the contestants and even an agent involved in the later investigation.


I don't want to get into the story too much because I don't want to spoil anything, but overall I really enjoyed this book. It was a unique way of telling a story and had a lot of interesting twists and turns. I did get a little confused sometimes between the switching of characters. I also felt like I was looking for more in terms of character development and more description of the initial part of the competition. I found it a little difficult to visualize.


All that being said, Influencer Island gave me a much-needed thrill and mystery and was overall very creative. I gave it 4 stars, docking that one star for having a lot of great ideas that I didn't think were fully realized.

Influencer Island is available now for Kindle (included in Unlimited) and paperback.


Read the author's summary --> HERE


Buy it on Amazon --> HERE


コメント


bottom of page