top of page

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

This was my spooky season read as well as the first mystery book I've read. I didn't think mysteries were really my thing, but I was so wrong! One of my best friends recommended this one to me, and I have loved every book she's ever told me about, so I figured this would be no different.



The story follows a high society gal named Jo and is set in the 1800s. Long story short, Jo wants more than frilly dresses and parties -- she wants to be a journalist. She eventually gets that opportunity, so an extent, when she finds out not only that her father has died, but that he was actually murdered.


We follow Jo and a motley crew of people who she probably would never had met otherwise. Together they work to solve the mystery, but not without many twists and turns.


Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was pretty consistent all the way through and I found it easy to relate to Jo, even though I have obviously never been a rich, NYC girl around the turn of the century. As a woman in particular, Jo's struggles can easily be translated to this time period.


My favorite bit of this book, however, was probably the last 10 chapters or so. I soared RIGHT through them. The rest of the book was good, but I felt it lacked a bit of excitement, as the events that occurred became slightly repetitive.

I would give this book a cool 4 stars for sure. It's not the best book I've ever read, but I did enjoy it, even though it took me what felt like forever to get through. Definitely a slow and steady read I would recommend!


Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Comentários


bottom of page