top of page

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

My husband bought me this one as a Christmas gift and when I asked him to pick a book for me to read next, this was it. My best friend (and loyal book recommender) also told me I just HAD to read this one. So with that and how much people had been talking about it, I had extra high expectations.



I'm not going to lie, it was really difficult for me to get into this one. While I have very much been branching out in my choices of books, I still tend to go for more "happy" stories to put it plainly. The beginning of this was just straight-up depressing.


It starts with a countdown until the main character, Nora, kills herself. Which I suppose kick-starts the main plot, but reading about how miserable she was made me, an empath, also miserable. I even texted my best friend saying "Please tell me it gets less depressing." Her response: "Ehh, kinda. But it's really great, I promise!" That was enough to keep me reading.


Once I got into the main part of the book, I got sucked in. Not to give too much away, but seeing Nora in all these different scenarios really made me think about how every decision we make has an impact on our lives.


I absolutely loved the ending and it was one of those books that once you finish and close the cover you just sit with it for a moment. It really made me think about life and choices and the ending was so opposite from the beginning that I was sad to see it go. It really wound up being a fantastic read.


I gave it four stars for the rough start, but I overall really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone looking to do some real thinking about life!

Read the author's summary --> HERE

Buy it on Amazon --> HERE

Comentarios


bottom of page